Introduction and Motivation

A little over a year ago as a senior at NYU, I wrote my Honors Journalism Thesis on solar energy in New York City (see Sun City, Street Level Fall 2008). Since then, my career as a journalist has taken me in a bit of a different direction. However, I’m still very interested in alternative energy sources and so I’ve decided to start the NYC Renewable blog to get back into that world. (Full disclosure: I’d also like to keep my job options open by writing about a subject matter completely different from what I do for my day job.)

Since I’ve been out of the game for a while – and my expertise was only in solar at the time anyway – I’m going to take the next month to study up in order to be able to write intelligently about renewables in New York. Who knows, I may find that the topic is too narrow and I need to broaden it (or, unlikely, that taking on all the various energy alternatives is too daunting a task). I’ll also be taking this time to format the blog and develop its look.

As of right now, I plan on posting at least a weekly “must read” list of news articles and other sources, as much for myself as for anyone who might be reading the blog. Once I get into the swing of things, I envision posts on news, events, and hopefully one day interviews and original reporting.

Please check back regularly for updates, and feel free to leave comments and suggestions.

Leave a Reply

